About my modules #8 - Reisverslag uit Birmingham, Verenigd Koninkrijk van Nina Toonen - WaarBenJij.nu About my modules #8 - Reisverslag uit Birmingham, Verenigd Koninkrijk van Nina Toonen - WaarBenJij.nu

About my modules #8

Door: Nina Toonen

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Nina

24 Maart 2017 | Verenigd Koninkrijk, Birmingham

Hi everyone,

As this journey is already almost coming to an end for me, I want to give you some more details about what I have been doing and learning here at Birmingham city university. I have been following three modules called; professional studies, children’s play and the child’s learning environment. I will tell you a bit more about each below:

Professional studies
This is a module for the secondary English trainee teachers, so they are doing a similar education as I am doing in the Netherlands. The only difference is that, in the UK pupils obviously already speak English, so the focus is more on literature, while in the Netherlands the focus is more on vocabulary, grammar and spelling. For this module we have to write three articles. We were allowed to choose the subjects ourselves from a range of topics. I chose (1) digital identities, (2) autism and (3) observation. We only had one lesson for this subject, for the rest it is mainly self study. If you guys are interested, I can post these articles I wrote on my blog as well.

Children’s play
This is a module for students that are learning about little children (0-4 years old). I’m not quite sure if we have a similar education in the Netherlands, but I think it is kind of the same as ‘pedagogiek’. For children’s play we have 1 – 2 lessons per week, 4 hours each. The lessons vary from lectures to seminars. We mainly learn about ‘play’ and how this affects children. Why they play, how they play, what the benefits are, what the risks and consequences are. For this module, we have to create a poster in groups of 4. Which I think is a fun and creative assignment. The poster has to be in A1 format and has to look pretty professional. When we finish the poster, I will definitely post a picture of it on my blog. We also have to present this poster in front of 2 teachers, which I am already nervous about.

The child’s learning environment
Also, this module is for students that are learning about little children (0-4 years old). We have one lesson of 4 hours per week for this subject, which are always seminars, because it’s a pretty practical class. I added some pictures in the gallery of what we have to do in these classes. This module kind of goes together with children’s play, only in this module, we focus on the environment children play in and what the role of the adult is while children play. We have to make a PowerPoint presentation for this module, only, strangely enough we don’t have to present it.

Hopefully, you know have a better view of what I am studying here in Birmingham. I will try to post more about what I am learning here and the assignments I have to do on my blog.

To be continued..

X NINA

  • 24 Maart 2017 - 14:48

    Tessa Bremen:

    Thank you!

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Nina

Actief sinds 09 Jan. 2017
Verslag gelezen: 1153
Totaal aantal bezoekers 6085

Voorgaande reizen:

02 Januari 2017 - 08 April 2017

Birmingham

Landen bezocht: